Dothan Alumnae Chapter History

Thirteen young women signed the official Charter for the Dothan Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, on June 18, 1983.  They are: 

Kayotris Reeves Bynum
Margie Cull Clark
Franciouse C. Crittenden
La Dora Cummings
Mina L. Dickens
Phyllis O’Neal Griffin
Peggi C. James
Cornelia Vickers Johnson
Mary J. Kimble
Lula Darnell Larkin
Pamela Newman
Lucy L. Webb
Oveta Williams (Pearce)

The Chartering Rites Luncheon was conducted at Holiday Inn-Dothan by Delta’s Southern Regional Director, Soror Verdelle Bellamy of Atlanta, Georgia, and thus initiated the chapter’s ongoing projects and activities for the business of Delta. Past  and Present Presidents have all contributed to programs set forth through the Grand Chapter and Delta's 5- Point Programmatic Thrust. 




Chapter Officers

 Vanessa Dickens, President

  Erica Hall, 1st Vice President

  Alexcia Moore, 2nd Vice President

  Katesha Ford, Recording Secretary

Samantha Boswell Corresponding Secretary

  Linda Lawrence, Treasurer

  Valencia Flowers, Assistant Treasurer

  Brenda Hunter, Financial Secretary

  Elnora Smith-Killings, Assistant Financial Secretary

  Pamela Newman, Chaplain

Odessa Jones, Sergeant-At-Arms

  Phyllis Griffin, Immediate Past President

Dothan Alumnae Chapter was awarded the 2016 Small Chapter of the Year and Small Chapter Art and Letters at the Regional Conference in Florida this summer. DAC Member Vanessa Dickens also won DST Alumnae of the Year. The sorority implements and assists with several projects throughout the Wiregrass community which are consistent with the sorority's 5-Point Programmatic Thrust.

Past Chapter Presidents​​

  1st & 13th Phyllis Griffin
  2nd & 4th  Mina Dickens*

3rd Annie Bailey*
  5th Shannon Thomas
  6th Vernell Paul*
  7th Beverly Peterman
  8th Oveta Pearce
  9th  Vanessa Dickens
  10th Erika Faulk
  11th Bettina Jessie
  12th Sylvia Malone

* Omega Omega Chapter