Mission Statement:  Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is an organization of college educated women committed to constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the black community.

From the Dothan Alumnae Chapter President:

Greetings! It gives me great pleasure to welcome you to the official website of the Dothan Alumnae Chapter (DAC) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. DAC actively serves the Wiregrass counties of Houston, Henry, Coffee, Dale, and Geneva in the southeastern region of Alabama, and has done so since 1983. We will continue to do so in the coming years. On behalf of the members of Dothan Alumnae Chapter, we welcome you. If I can be of service to you, please email me at
-Vanessa Y. Dickens, President

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated

is a sisterhood of college-educated women dedicated to community service. This private, non-profit organization's sole purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in communities throughout the world. The programs and activities of the sorority are based upon the Five Point Programmatic Thrust:

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913, by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University in Washington, D.C. These young women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence; to provide scholarships; to provide support to the underserved; to educate and stimulate participation in the establishment of positive public policy; and to highlight issues and provide solutions for problems in their communities.

The organizational structure and governance of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority is invested in the Grand Chapter, which meets in National Convention biennially. Regional conferences are held in the seven geographic regions of the organization during non-convention years.In the interim, the Executive Board, consisting of elected and appointed members, acts to establish and implement policies, as needed.A paid professional staff, under the leadership of the Executive Director, operates the National Headquarters office in Washington, D.C.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. conducts all of its activities in according with the rules that govern organizations whose tax status is 501(c)(7).

Delta Sigma Theta currently has over 900 chapters which make up a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominantly Black college educated women in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas and the Republic of Korea.

Alumnae Deltas comprise the largest portion (76 percent) of the membership, while collegiate Deltas comprise 24 percent of the membership. Most Deltas are employed in education as teachers, school administrators, counselors, professors and higher education administrators. Other occupations frequently reported include management;social sciences; social work; medicine/health; law; engineering; architecture; the performing arts; information sciences; public administration; the judiciary; journalism; and religion.

A great number of the most astute professionals,entrepreneurs, corporate leaders, political leaders, educators and key influencers from around the world hold membership in Delta Sigma Theta. Some of the organization's most distinguished members include: former U.S. Secretary of Labor, The Honorable Alexis Herman; Attorney General Loretta Lynch; Congresswoman Marcia L. Fudge (D-OH); Yvette Clark (D-NY); and renowned journalists Gwen Ifill, Soledad O'Brien and Melissa Harris-Perry. Some of Delta's most notable celebrity members include Angela Bassett, Kym Whitley, Keshia Knight-Pulliam, the late Aretha Franklin and Dr. Nikki Giovanni.

Economic Development
Educational Development
International Awareness and Involvement
Physical and Mental Health
Political Awareness and Involvement


Next Chapter Meeting
March 14, 2020
Delta Life Development Center
408 Sixth Street
Dothan, Alabama 36301

If you are a visiting soror, and you would like to attend a meeting, please contact 2nd Vice President, Alexcia Moore, at

  1. Managing Director
  2. Managing Director
  3. Managing Director
  4. Managing Director
  5. Managing Director
  6. Managing Director
  7. Managing Director
  8. Managing Director
  9. Managing Director
  10. Managing Director
  11. Managing Director
  12. Managing Director
  13. Managing Director
  14. Managing Director
  15. Managing Director
  16. Managing Director